Utah's Residency Requirements
The petitioner must have been a Utah resident for 3 months prior to filing the divorce forms.
Utah's Grounds for Divorce
Utah residents may file for divorce under fault or no-fault grounds.
- irreconcilable differences
- living separate and apart under judicial decree without cohabitation for 3 years or more
- conviction of a felony
- willful neglect
Utah's Child Custody Guidelines
Divorcing parents are allowed to collaborate on a child custody arrangement. If the parents cannot reach a decision, an Utah court will make a ruling.
- each parent's past conduct and moral standards
- whether a parent can act in the child's best interests
- wishes of the child
Utah's Child Support Guidelines
If the parents cannot agree on the amount of child support and the paying parent, child support will be decided by state-specific calculations and guidelines.
- the age of the child and parents
- each parent's situation and standard of living
- the parent's earning capacity, financial situation and resources
Utah's Spousal Support Guidelines
Spousal support can be paid in one lump sum, in installments, or periodically. The spouses may determine the spousal support type, or the courts may award spousal support.
- duration of the marriage
- the standard of living experienced at time of separation
- any marital fault
Utah's Property Division Guidelines
Utah has adopted equitable distribution guidelines, which means all property (including gifts and inheritances) will be divided as fairly and equally as possible. Spouses may collaborate on the property distribution, but if they are unable to agree the courts will make a ruling.
Utah's Venue Guidelines
A petitioner may file the divorce forms in their Utah county of residence, or in the respondent's county of residence.